Ukrainian World Congress
Contact us
Add to bookmark
English  /   Українська
UWC Members: Argentina Armenia Australia Belgium Bosnia and Herzehovina Brazil Bulgaria Canada Croatia Czech Republic Denmark Estonia France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Italy Kazakhstan Latvia Lithuania Moldova Norway Paraguay Poland Portugal Romania Russian Federation Serbia Slovak Republic Spain Svitzerland United Kingdom United States of America Uzbekistan European Congress of Ukrainians


UWC supports UN call for action to prevent death by starvation in Kenya, north-east Nigeria, Somalia, South Sudan and Yemen

The Ukrainian World Congress (UWC) joins the United Nations (UN) in calling for immediate action by the international community to prevent the starvation of millions in Kenya, north-east Nigeria, Somalia, South Sudan and Yemen.

On 22 February 2017, UN Secretary General António Guterres, sounding the alarm on behalf of more than 20 million people in north-east Nigeria, Somalia, South Sudan and Yemen facing devastating levels of food insecurity, called  for “strong and urgent” action from the international community to help the already-fragile countries avert catastrophe.

On 10 March 2017, the UN Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator Stephen O’Brien reported to the UN Security Council on the situation in Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan and Yemen, “We stand at a critical point in history. Already at the beginning of the year we are facing the largest humanitarian crisis since the creation of the UN.”

“Ukrainians, having survived a genocidal famine – the Holodomor – and the inexcusable indifference toward the lives of millions of innocent men, women and children, support the UN call for action by the international community to avert another catastrophe in the world,” stated UWC President Eugene Czolij. 

Print this page

Ukrainian World Congress
145 Evans Avenue, #207, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M8Z 5X8
Tel: 416-323-3020 Fax: 416-323-3250 E-mail:
Web Design Toronto by Intelex.
Copyright © 2018