Balkan States adopt declaration in support of Ukraine

August 22,2023 1369
Balkan States adopt declaration in support of Ukraine

The leaders of 11 countries adopted the Athens Declaration during the Balkan Summit to support Ukraine’s territorial integrity. It is Serbia, Moldova, Montenegro, Greece, Romania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia, Bulgaria, Croatia, and Kosovo [as of today, Ukraine does not officially recognize Kosovo].

The countries expressed unwavering support for “Ukraine’s independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders, based on the values of democracy and rule of law in the face of Russian aggression.”

The document was signed in the presence of Charles Michel, President of the European Council, and Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission.

“The Russian invasion of Ukraine is a pivotal moment for Europe, creating a new level of awareness of shared principles, unity and common future within the EU. This is a critical time for the security, peace and stability of our European continent,” the declaration states.

The countries emphasized that “laws and principles that contributed to a stable and predictable European security order for so long have been violated.”

“We agreed that there can be no impunity for war crimes and other atrocities, such as attacks against civilians and the destruction of infrastructure and all those responsible must be held accountable,” the document states.

The signatories also expressed their readiness to support Ukraine and Moldova on the way to joining the European Union.

Cover: Office of the President of Ukraine