Ukrainian World Congress President Eugene Czolij concludes visit to Ukraine

#UWC news
September 17,2018 106

On 13-15 September 2018, Ukrainian World Congress (UWC) President Eugene Czolij fulfilled a working visit to Ukraine, during which he raised current Ukrainian issues with the President and Prime Minister of Ukraine, high-ranking officials of Ukraine, other countries and international institutions, and representatives of civil society.

While in Kyiv, the UWC President discussed strategic issues related to combating Russian hybrid aggression, the development of the Ukrainian state, and recognition of the Holodomor of 1932-33 as a genocide of the Ukrainian people, particularly during the15th Yalta European Strategy Annual Meeting (YES).

With President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko and Prime Minister of Ukraine Volodymyr Groysman, Eugene Czolij also discussed the commemoration in Ukraine of the 85th anniversary of the Holodomor and invited them to the XI Ukrainian World Congress to be held in Kyiv on 24-27 November 2018.

Eugene Czolij also thanked the President of Estonia, Kersti Kaljulaid, for the unwavering support for Ukraine in the defence of its territorial integrity.

The UWC President met separately with the President of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy, Andriy Meleshevych, to discuss future cooperation between the UWC and this university. Eugene Czolij was accompanied to this meeting by Director of the UWC Mission to Ukraine Serhiy Kasyanchuk.

“The Ukrainian World Congress will continue to further the issue of the defence of the territorial integrity of Ukraine and its development in cooperation with the governing authorities and civil society of Ukraine and  the international community,” stated UWC President Eugene Czolij.

List of individuals with whom the UWC President met:

Ariev Volodymyr, Head of the Ukrainian delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

Austrevicius Petras, Member of European Parliament and Chair of the EU-Ukraine Friendship Group

Beck Marieluise, former member of the Bundestag, co-founder of Zentrum Liberale Moderne

Bildt Carl, former Prime Minister of Sweden

Cox Pat, former President of the European Parliament

Gahler Michael, Member of the European Parliament and Standing Rapporteur of the European Parliament on Ukraine

Gerasymov Artur, Head of the Delegation of Ukraine to the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Parliamentary Assembly

Groysman Volodymyr, Prime Minister of Ukraine

Hrytsenko Anatolii, Leader of the Hromadianska Pozytsia Party

Kaljulaid Kersti, President of Estonia

Klimkin Pavlo, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine

Klympush-Tsintsadze Ivanna, Vice-Prime Minister of Ukraine for European and Euro-Atlantic Integration

Kowal Paweł, Assistant Professor at the Institute of Political Studies at the Polish Academy of Sciences

Kryvenko Viktor, Leader of the Narodnyi Rukh Party

Kubilius Andrius, former Prime Minister of Lithuania

Kuchma Leonid, former President of Ukraine

Kwaśniewski Aleksander, former President of Poland

Lutsenko Yuriy, Prosecutor General of Ukraine

Meleshevych Andriy, President of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy

Mingarelli Hugues, European Union Ambassador to Ukraine, Head of the European Union Delegation to Ukraine

Nyshchuk Yevhen, Minister of Culture of Ukraine

Poroshenko Petro, President of Ukraine

Pranckevičius Arnoldas, Head of the European Commission Representation in Lithuania

Tymoshenko Yulia, Leader of the Batkivschyna Party

Vakarchuk Svyatoslav, community activist and lead vocalist of Okean Elzy

Volker Kurt – Ambassador, U.S. Special Representative for Ukraine Negotiations, U.S. Department of State

Wagner Peter, Head of the Support Group for Ukraine at the European Commission

Donate Subscribe to our news