2024 Shevchenko Prize recipients: Who were honored?

March 11,2024 397
2024 Shevchenko Prize recipients: Who were honored?

On March 9, in Kyiv, the award ceremony for the Taras Shevchenko National Prize of Ukraine took place. Laureates were recognized in the categories of “Literature,” “Journalism, Press,” “Musical Art,” “Visual Art,” and “Theatrical Art.”

The award for journalistic work on the siege of Mariupol by Russians, particularly the 20 Days in Mariupol documentary, was given to Evgeniy Maloletka, Mstyslav Chernov, and Vasilisa Stepanenko.

In the “Literature” category, poet, TV presenter, and military officer Dmytro Lazutkin received the award for his poetry collection “Zakladka” [“Bookmark”]. Ukrainian philologist and military officer Yaryna Chornohuz was also honored for the poetry book “[dasein: oborona prysutnosti].”

For the musical exploration of the folklore heritage of Crimean Tatars, the album “Qirim,” singer Jamala received the award in the “Musical Art” category. Other laureates include composer Karmella Tsepkolenko, recognized for the cantatas “Chytayuchy istoriyu,” “Zvidky ty, chorna valko, ptashyna zhhaie?,” duel duet No. 14, and Symphony No. 5.

The “Visual Art” category winner was artist Andrii Yermolenko, who was awarded for the series of works “Ukrainian Resistance // Ukrainskyi opir.”

In the “Theatrical Art” category, Ivan Uryvskyi was honored for the “Konotopska Vidma” production at the Ivan Franko National Academic Drama Theater, gaining widespread popularity among audiences.

Each laureate will receive UAH 429,000 (US$11,500). The National Taras Shevchenko Prize of Ukraine was established in 1961 and is the highest creative award in Ukraine. Each year, no more than seven prizes can be awarded, and an individual can be honored only once in their lifetime.